The Lusaka Agreement Task Force is the secretariat and operational arm of an intergovernmental treaty known as the Lusaka Agreement on cooperation enforcement measures for the illegal trade in wildlife in Africa. The treaty was brought to life in December 1992 by wildlife prison officers from eight east and South African countries in Lusaka, Zambia, under the aegis of Zambia`s Ministry of Tourism. Working group meetings were held within the framework of CITES, Interpol and special agents from the Special Services of Fish and Wildlife and Wildlife Services, as well as lawyers from the Foundation for the Development of the International Force (FIELD) at the University of London. The development of this African initiative a year later led to formal intergovernmental negotiations under the auspices of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). The result was the adoption on 8 September 1994 in Lusaka, Zambia, of the Lusaka Cooperation Agreement on Coercive Measures Against the Illegal Trade in Wild Fauna and Flora. The agreement will be tabled with the SECRETARy-general of the United Nations in New York and will be dealt with by un environment XXVII.11. The agreement entered into force on 10 December 1996, with the ratification or formal adoption of four signatories. There are currently seven parties to the agreement: the Republics of Congo (Brazzaville), Kenya, Liberia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and the Kingdom of Lesotho. The republics of South Africa, Ethiopia and the Kingdom of Swaziland are signatories. A permanent task force to facilitate cooperation in/between the contracting parties to the Lusaka Agreement and to investigate violations of national laws relating to the illegal trade in wildlife. #map_canvas_1 – left: -25%; #map_canvas_1 – Margin-Top: -10%; #map_canvas_1 width: 140%; Amount: 140%; #map_canvas_1 – Background Repeat:no-repeat; Bottom size: 100% 100%; > The agreement provides for the creation of a permanent task force to achieve its objectives.

That is why the Lusaka Task Force was established on 1 June 1999, based in Nairobi, Kenya. A state agency created or designated, coordinated with the working group responsible for investigations and cooperation activities related to the illegal trade in wildlife. The national offices of the agreement are the National Office of the Lusaka Agreement (BNAL, Congo), Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS), Tanzania Wildlife Division (TWD), Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA) and Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA). The National Secretariat for the Environment and the Forestry Development Authority of the Kingdom of Lesotho and the Republic of Liberia are currently addressing issues relating to the Lusaka Agreement until the official designation of their national offices. A political and decision-making body composed of a minister or substitute from each state party responsible for overseeing the operations of the Task Force.